Pangaea

I finished this track the other day but the idea for it has been bouncing around my head for maybe 12 or 13 years. When I uploaded it to soundcloud.com they immediately blocked it, said that it has been detected as breaching copyright. I had to fill in a form and wait a few hours for them to unblock it. The track was made from scratch by me, until then no-one had heard it but me. I used some drum hit samples (not even loops) but they all came from perfectly legal sample libraries. All the software I use is legit. There is no way anything in this track is a breach of anyone’s copyright. The only thing I can think is that it’s name is an existing track, but that’s absurd. Most track names will be names of numerous tracks, so if you’re going to automatically ban things by name 99% will be false positives.

I even pay for this service!

So to clarify, it seems I was temporarily blocked from using a service I pay for by someone making a completely unfounded claim to owning the copyright to my music.

Leave a Reply

